Friday, January 9, 2009

Jan 9, 2009

So today we ran to Walmart to pick up a few groceries. Megan is 2 years old...and very good at it. She has recently started throwing fits for no good reason at all, and she especially loves to do it when we are in stores or at church or in the car (where there is nothing in the world we can do). Lovely. Well today as we were checking out our food Megan started having a little fit in the cart. We tried to ask her what the problem was, but she just sat there and cried. Dad was holding Nathan, and I was getting everything rung up, and this older woman comes up in the line behind us. She started to ask Megan what was wrong, but Megan just cried. She asked again, and Sean said "she's just tired," to which the lady said, "we could hear her way back in the store." (First of all, she had only been crying for a minute or two by then and although she was vocal she wasn't screaming hysterically). This time I just calmly said, "I know, she's just getting tired." The lady looked at me and said, "well, maybe you could pick her up." The way she looked at me conveyed all her inside thoughts about what unfit parents we were to have a child crying in the grocery store. YIKES!! I don't usually get annoyed by people, but this lady just made me nuts. What kind of lesson would that teach my two year old...have a crying fit about nothing and then Mom will pick you up. Not to mention the fact that our hands were busy at the moment. I just wanted to say, "Lady, maybe you could back off. Do you think I love it that my child is having a fit in this store? No. That's why we are moving quickly to get out. Perhaps you have never had a toddler, and if you have then you have definitely forgotten what it is like." I didn't say any of things, we just finished up our stuff and left. But Man, she really got my blood going (and frankly that's hard to do).

No comments:

Post a Comment